To promote a brotherhood that transcends all religious, ethnic, cultural, social
and educational differences.

University Lodge #631

The Mission of Freemasonry is to promote a way of life that binds like-minded men in a worldwide brotherhood that transcends all religious, ethnic, cultural, social and educational differences; by teaching the great principle of Brotherly Love, relief and truth; and, by the outward expression of these through its fellowship, its compassion and its concern, to find ways in which to serve God, family, country neighbor and self.

University Lodge is committed to actually living the principles of classical Freemasonry. To achieve this we commit to investigating the principles themselves, their origins, how history has affected the transmission of these principles, and what we must do each day to live them here, and now. We value knowledge, intention, action silence and circumspection.

We learn and perform exemplary ritual, and investigate exactly what the ritual was designed to teach. We do not accept dogma but rather accept knowledge arrived at through experience. We define brotherhood as a personal active commitment to each other and expect our members live this each day. We value and embrace open search for truth. We reject tyranny, political correctness, or social injustice. We practice charity directly and personally. We do not bend to the vicissitudes of life. We do not shirk from duty or the imperatives of honor.

University Lodge accepts men who wish to walk with us in the active pursuit of brotherhood and stronger moral beliefs.


Freemasonry can help you grow as a better person. Ask to Join the Brotherhood.

Ask to Join

lodge history

Acacia Fraternity, in 1913, sponsored a banquet to which all Masons on the Ohio State University campus were invited.

Read more


Founded in 1717, Freemasonry is the oldest, largest and most widely recognized fraternal organization in the world.

Read more

lodge degrees

The experience of becoming a member of a Masonic Lodge is divided into three ceremonial stages call "degrees."

Read more